Au Revoir BeccaLois Blogs

My blog domain and site hosting are up for renewal in the next month, and while it should be a given that I’ll be renewing them, renewal is something that I’ve been debating for weeks now. 

I absolutely love writing, which is why I originally started BeccaLois Blogs just over a year ago. I’ve loved learning about SEO and the more technical stuff behind a blog, and have so much more to learn in that field. It’s a great feeling learning on your own terms, without school or work forcing you, and expanding knowledge because you genuinely want to. I’ve loved proof-reading, editing photos, creating images on Canva and the whole ‘rigamarole’ of owning a little corner of the internet.  

However, I’ve realised that I haven’t come to love the element of using yourself as your brand and blog. Which, for me, is largely linked to social media. I’m very aware that the more that you post and the more you share on your stories, the more followers you gain and therefore the more people you have to read your blog when you link it on the ‘gram. However, I personally don’t want to have to post every day. I don’t want to get dressed up purely to take a photo to put on social media, or post what I’m doing on my stories because I feel like I should.

I wanted this blog purely to focus on writing and owning a site, and honestly didn’t realise quite how much personal lifestyle blogs rely on social media. Because I’m not promoting my blog posts as much as I know I could on social media, or posting as regularly as a “blogger” should, I’m not getting the readers that I quite honestly think some of my posts deserve. 

Don’t get me wrong, I still absolutely love consuming others’ content; I am an inherently nosy being so viewing little slices of people’s life on Instagram, Twitter, YouTube etc is something that I have done for years and is undoubtably still something that I enjoy daily.

I’m so proud of the website that I’ve created. I absolutely love the whole blog community, watching YouTube and endlessly scrolling Instagram. I’ve just realised that, having tried it, creating a personal lifestyle type of content isn’t quite for me (that plus the fact that I’ve had an idea for a new site which is exciting me SO much).  

The thought of deleting this website that I’ve worked so hard on over the past year makes me v sad, so from mid-May I’ll be exporting it all back to beccaloisblogs.wordpress.com, so that all my content will still exist, and I can still write posts for BeccaLois Blogs in the future should I fancy it. 

There’s no way that I can say goodbye to writing and the online world, so have a new little website and social project up my sleeve which I am incredibly excited about. I forgot how tricky it is setting up new a new domain and building a new website from scratch, so I’ll reveal this in due time just in case it all goes tits up. Let’s just say it’s focussing more on the ‘London’ element of my current ‘London Lifestyle’ niche, and will have a strong theme which I just can’t wait to create new social medias for. I can’t wait to apply all that I’ve learnt with BeccaLois Blogs to another site, which I’m anticipating to be bigger and better. 

My personal social media will stay exactly the same, and I can’t wait to keep reading all of your blogs! See you with a new website very soon….

Becca x

Leave a comment